cafe wonderings.

Right now I am tucked away in a secluded corner of our small-town Starbucks, sipping coffee, and typing away as rain pours down outside. It’s just me and my thoughts, surrounded by the smell of brewing coffee and sound of pattering rain.

Monday evenings here are a ghost town. Presently the population of this small coffee shop consists of me, a business man typing away, a college student bearing a puzzled expression that screams “math,” and three, green-apron-clad baristas behind the counter. 

The swishing and clinking sounds of cappuccinos and lattes being mixed and Mumford & Sons make up the background music of my time spent here. The unnecessary amount of air conditioning is causing me to shrink into my oversized sweater and regret my decision to get a frappuccino instead of a hot caramel latte.

I’m curled up in this plush chair, consumed by creative thoughts & fresh ideas, and I couldn’t be more content.

This is my happy place.

Give me a choice between sitting in this corner for a few hours or sitting among friends and family over dinner and I would choose this moment.

Don’t get me wrong, I love spending time with those I’m close to. It’s something I absolutely love. Honestly though, I’d rather be curled up somewhere secret with a book or journal in hand.

My functionality thrives on seclusion, as weird as that may sound. I need time alone to collect my thoughts and refuel to function sufficiently. I need time to write and get my unsaid opinions down on paper or escape to another world in literature. Sometimes I must escape to a place where I am invisible; a place like this coffee shop corner. Here, no one knows me. Here the world is blocked out and I am focused in on writing; or dreaming; or both. Here, I can open up my mind and spill it all out. Here in my happy place, I can fly free.

Michaela Joy  ❤

Share your thoughts...

