what if…

What if this isn’t where you want me Lord?

This question continued to run through my mind a few months ago as I was praying about what to do this Fall since graduating high school a month ago. I could go ahead and start college or I could take a year off. If I started college, I had narrowed it down to two options. If I took a year off, I could just work at home or I could do missions work for a year. 

After many weeks of praying and seeking guidance from those around me, I finally decided to take a year off and attend a six-month school with a missions organization called Youth With A Mission (YWAM). Then after a few more weeks of praying, I felt God calling me to attend this school at one of their locations in England.

Finally, I had figured out my next season of life. Where I would go; what I would do. However, there remained that one question in the back of my mind.

What if this isn’t where you want me Lord?

This question gave way to even more… What if I heard Him wrong? What if I’m supposed to start college and am wasting my time & money on this other school? What if I’ve gotten this all wrong and am gonna miss opportunities & relationships? What if, what if, what if…

As I applied and was then accepted for YWAM, these questions continued nagging me and kept me from moving forward with the preparations for this upcoming trip.

I finally shared these doubts with a close friend and you know what she said?

God can use me wherever I am, whether it’s the “right” place or not.

When it comes to making decisions like this, there is no right or wrong path with God. Wherever you end up going is a part of God’s plan, and He will work through you to make a difference there.

As I think about this now, it seems so self-explanatory. Of course God will use me wherever I am. Why didn’t I see that before? Well, I’ve learned that we can often be blindsided by the enemy’s lies to miss even the most obvious of things.

Are you at a fork in the road? Wondering which direction to go and worrying about choosing the wrong direction? Remember that God can and will use you to make a difference wherever you end up. Stop holding back on a decision just because your afraid it will be the wrong one.

Trust in His ability to work through you and go for it.

“[F]or it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.”

<< Philippians 2:13

Love,

Michaela ❤

Share your thoughts...

