home.

Home. It’s hard to pinpoint where exactly home is these days.

I’ve spent the last 6 months traveling between the States, England, and Chile. During that time abroad, my family moved yet again. Since being home, I have found myself in a new house, new location, new neighborhood, new church, new everything. This is how my life has been for most of my 18 years. Especially in the past five. God has been calling me to different places around the world while He’s also been moving my family around from place-to-place.

Having moved from place-to-place so much, in such a short time, has definitely taken it’s toll on me. Everything in me just longs for a place to stay forever. One place, one house, one home.

Since returning to a different home a little over a month ago, this particular longing has been nagging at me constantly. I often question, “Why God have you been moving me around so much? Why can’t I just stay still for longer than a few months; a few years at least….Why are you calling me to this lifestyle?… I guess if this is Your plan for my life, can you at least keep my family in one place for me to return to now and again?”

In the midst of the lingering questions, He slips a gentle whisper into the jumbled mess of questions.

“You can find your home in my presence. Come home to me my daughter…Come home to my presence.”

“Come home to me.” This is one whisper that has been repeated over and over again throughout the past 7 months. It was the prominent thing God spoke to me back in September when I had first arrived in England. He spoke this command during our first worship night and it has continued to come up ever since.

As I have been dwelling on this ever-present whisper, I have come to realize that God has given it a double meaning in my life. For the first few months, it was His daily nudge towards finding refuge in His presence. When fear and uncertainty overwhelmed me, He would gently remind me to come into His home-like presence to rest in peace.

In recent months, that whisper has come to have a double meaning. When it feels like I have no solid home, His presence is my home. And even if I do end up settling down in one place, His presence will still be my home. All the comfort and safety a home brings, is also what His presence carries and more.

Dwell on this reassurance today.

The paths of life that may take you far from home can not change the fact that you are a carrier of God’s presence. His presence in you is your home when you feel far from your earthly one. His presence is your resting place; your place of comfort and structure of safety.

“And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God.” /  Revelation 21:3 

“For we know that if the earthly tent we live in is destroyed, we have a building from God, an eternal house in heaven, not built by human hands.” / 2 Corinthians 5:1

Love,

Michaela ❤

 

Share your thoughts...

