the coronation | a book review.

Good morning everyone!

This morning I write with great excitement as I present my review of a new novel written by my great friend, Livy Jarmusch!

For the past four years, Livy has been pouring out her heart through writing to encourage young women in their faith. She faithfully created and maintained a Christian young women’s magazine, Crown of Beauty, which touched many lives. Out of this ministry, Livy began writing Christian fiction and is now coming out with her first novel! I’m excited to join her book launch blog tour today by sharing my thoughts on this lovely new story!


Click this photo to purchase your copy of The Coronation on Amazon!

Title: The Coronation: The Tales of Tarsurella (Book One)

Author: Livy Jarmusch

Synopsis

“Prince Addison is only several weeks away from inheriting the Kingdom of Tarsurella. The entire Palace is ablaze with excitement, as the Royal Family prepares for the event of a lifetime. Despite the exciting event which is near at hand, Addison and his younger siblings (all seven of them!) must carry on with their daily activities. Addison’s sisters, Princesses Bridget, Chasity, and Hope, have their struggles with being iconic European starlets of a modern day monarchy. The teen heiresses grace magazine covers, smile for photoshoots, and gracefully glide through important interviews–until a certain American popstar arrives on the scene. Kennetic Energy, the wildly popular band from the United States, is chosen to play at Addison’s Coronation. David Carter, the band’s handsome lead singer, fumbles through awkward moments with Princess Hope–in front of the cameras. When an embarrassing rumor sparks that Princess Hope is dating the young fellow, she is determined to get the band fired from their Royal gig. Meanwhile, Princess Chasity is dealing with her own fragile affairs of the heart. Her new security guard, Hanson Fletcher, is completely captivating, yet entirely frustrating. She attempts to keep the entrance of her heart firmly protected, while following the wisdom of Proverbs 4:23. But can she be successful in guarding her heart, from her security guard?”


 Wow, where do I even begin? I am completely in love with this story. It holds every element that a great story should embody. In this story, Livy presents well-developed characters, action, romance, plot twists, and faith. I fell in love with the writing style and story fabrication right away. I love how family members’ stories all intertwine, yet remain separate from each other at the same time. This is a storytelling quality that I greatly admire and will strive for in my own writing.

One of my favorite aspects of this novel was the character development. I quickly fell in love with many of the characters (namely Prince Addison, Vanessa, and Princess Millie) based on their unique and separate personalities. I love how there were a variety of personality types represented among the characters. The development of each character throughout the story was strong as well. They each learn valuable lessons of faith and trust that build them up and encouraged me as the reader.

Along with this, I was also able to relate with many of the characters. Many of their personalities and interests line up with my own. This made the story all the more fun to read! I relate to Princes Chasity and David in that I am a major book nerd (The castle library description literally made me quite giddy). I relate to Millie in her love for chocolate and sense of adventure. Being the oldest of my siblings, I related to Prince Addison (the oldest sibling) in the sense of desiring to carry a humble heart and display strong leadership for those younger than me. And I think Vanessa and I would be great friends due to a similar heart for helping the widows and orphans of this world. We also have a similar style, comfy and casual. 🙂

Another element of this novel that I admire is the incorporation of God into the dialogue and storyline. This is a rare thing to come across in literature these days and was refreshing. Livy wrote lessons into the story that not only encouraged the characters, but  touched my heart as well. One of my favorite passages from the first few chapters is from a conversation between the King and soon-to-be-King, Prince Addison. The King is offering wise words of experience for the future King of Tarsurella.

He says,

“‘Son, you should take pride in your low position. To be a king is not to be the first, but to be the last. For someday you shall have to answer to God as to how you led these people’… Only God can give you the strength to be king, Addison. Only God.”

I may not be a future King, but I really resonated with this encouragement to remain humble in serving others and to rely on God for strength.

There’s so much more I’d love to say about this story, but I think I should wrap this review up for today. If you want to hear more of my thoughts on this novel, I will be rejoining the blog tour next week on July 7 from my book blog The Meaning of Written WordsGo follow along there to read more about The Coronation!

Much love,

Michaela ❤

The Coronation comes out on Kindle and in Paperback form on July 6th! Make sure to head to Amazon and purchase your own copy! You don’t want to miss out on this captivating tale!

Livy, thank you so much for allowing me to be apart of the tour and for sharing your story! It has encouraged me in so many ways! ❤

Also be sure to connect with Livy on social media and her personal blog! She’s such a lovely friend and amazing woman of God!

Livy Jarmusch on:

 

SaveSave

2 thoughts on “the coronation | a book review.

Share your thoughts...

